by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter

A wet and messy Saturday in South Carolina saw Martin Donnelly and Brian Doherty post the fastest overall time at Sandblast Rally, completing all nine stages in a total time of 1:27:12. They were followed by Nick Bragg and Dominic DePaoli, whose time of 1:36:55 in their Audi Quattro was good enough to top the Atlantic Rally Cup standings.

Conditions weren’t ideal for the nearly 80 entries that appeared at this year’s Sandblast, with a number of entries forced to withdraw early due to damage. In all, less than half of the 38 cars entered finished the race, with a number of top entries taking DNFs. Chris Greenhouse and Claire Williams retired at the first service after hitting a tree on the second stage; at the time, they were second fastest in the event, and leading the ARC standings.

That simply opened the door for a different set of names on the podium. Duncker Felix Jr. and Jason Grizaniuk’s 1:39:39 was second-best in the ARC standings, while Mario Nogales and Santiago Alban were third with a time of 1:40:54. Alexander Larsen and Kaitlyn Jansen’s Toyota MR2 was the top two-wheel drive car, while Rob McCarter/Mohammad Salehi and Radoslaw Wlodarczyk/Cameron Carr completed the podium.

The success rate for motorcycle finishers was a bit higher than cars despite the muddy roads, as 30 of the 41 bikes that started the race completed the event. Randy Richardson topped the standings on his Medium-class Husqvarna at 1:20:49, while Chris McNeil and Bill Conger completed the overall podium on a pair of Heavy-class BMWs. Samuel Burroughs’ 1:26:45 was best in the Motorcycle Dakar class, while Jason Kinsey topped Motorcycle Light.

The fastest overall competitors in each class from Sandblast Rally were as follows:

  • Open AWD Heavy: Martin Donnelly/Brian Doherty, 1:27:12
  • Open AWD Light: Duncker Felix Jr./Jason Grizaniuk, 1:39:39
  • Open 2WD Heavy: Michael Hall/Darryl Smoot, 2:23:37
  • Open 2WD Light: Alexander Larsen/Kaitlyn Jansen, 1:57:58
  • Motorcycle Heavy: Chris McNeil, 1:21:27
  • Motorcycle Medium: Randy Richardson, 1:20:49
  • Motorcycle Dakar: Samuel Burroughs, 1:26:45
  • Motorcycle Light: Jason Kinsey, 1:52:18